FIFA World Cup 2022: How to stream, watch in Australia, SBS exclusive broadcaster, Australian games in Qatar

Qatar is set to be the centre of the sporting world over the next month as the 2022 FIFA World Cup finally arrives.

And after a diabolical outing on Optus Sport last time around, Aussie fans will rejoice as free-to-air broadcaster SBS will have every match of the tournament live.

Watch the world’s best footballers every week with beIN SPORTS on Kayo. LIVE coverage from Bundesliga, Ligue 1, Serie A, Carabao Cup, EFL & SPFL. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

It’s a win for Aussies who can tune into even minute of all 64 matches via SBS, SBS VICELAND and streaming service SBS On Demand from November 21 to the World Cup Final on December 19 (Australian time).

The streaming service is also free to use but requires users to create an account with a name and a valid email address.

But it means fans can watch matches from wherever they are via mobile applications or on TV.

The problem for Australian fans is the timezone as matches will generally be played late at night or early in the morning.

WA fans will be the best served, with some matches starting as early as 6pm AWST although the latest matches starting at 3am AWST, while the rest of the country will be getting the coffee pot ready for some late nights.

Qatar’s timezone is GMT+3, while AWST is GMT+8 and AEDT is GMT+11.

The early stages have matches at:

— 9pm AEDT (8pm AEST, 8.30pm ACDT, 7.30pm ACST, 6pm AWST)

— 12am AEDT (11pm AEST, 11.30pm ACDT, 10.30pm ACST, 9pm AWST)

— 2am AEDT (1am AEST, 1.30am ACDT, 12.30am ACST, 11pm AWST)

— 3am AEDT (2am AEST, 2.30am ACDT, 1.30am ACST, 12am AWST)

— 6am AEDT (5am AEST, 5.30am ACDT, 4.30am ACST, 3am AWST)

The knockout stages will have matches at:

— 2am AEDT (1am AEST, 1.30am ACDT, 12.30am ACST, 11pm AWST) — including the third-placed playoff and World Cup Final

— 6am AEDT (5am AEST, 5.30am ACDT, 4.30am ACST, 3am AWST) — including the semi-finals

All three of Australia’s group matches will be played on the main SBS channel.

— Wednesday November 23 Vs France @ 6am AEDT (5am AEST, 5.30am ACDT, 4.30am ACST, 3am AWST)

— Saturday November 26 Vs Tunisia @ 9pm AEDT (8pm AEST, 8.30pm ACDT, 7.30pm ACST, 6pm AWST)

— Thursday December 1 Vs Denmark @ 2am AEDT (1am AEST, 1.30am ACDT, 12.30am ACST, 11pm AWST)

The knockout stages begin on Sunday December 4, all leading up to the December 19 decider.

There will also be familiar voices to Australian fans with David Basheer commentating all Socceroos matches, while Martin Tyler will call other big matches including the final.

The likes of Harry Kewell, John Aloisi, Robbie Cornthwaite, Kyah Simon, Mark Bosnich and Craig Foster will also be commentating the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *