Ravi Ashwin throws his support behind Adam Zampa’s Mankad attempt

International cricket‘s most ardent champion of the Mankad, Indian spinner Ravi Ashwin, has thrown his support behind Adam Zampa’s failed attempt at the MCG.

Zampa, captain of the Melbourne Stars, was adamant he was within his rights to take the bails off during the Big Bash game when Melbourne Renegades tailender Tom Rogers crept out of his crease.

The Australian spinner’s technique let him down and it was ruled not out because, as per the rules clarified by the game’s chief lawmakers at the MCC, he was too far gone in his bowling action.

But Ashwin, who famously ran out England star Jos Buttler in the Indian Premier League in 2019 sparking controversy, showed his support for Zampa by liking a social media post by former Australian Test opener Joe Burns.

Now a teammate of Zampa at the Stars, Burns said the run out was no different to a stumping at the other end, and batters should “just stay in the crease”, a message which drew the approval of Ashwin.

Ashwin and Zampa are set to be teammates at the Rajasthan Royals this season, along with Buttler.

But while Ashwin and Burns are OK with what Zampa did, the incident has divided past and present players.

English batter Liam Livingstone, the first-ever No.1 draft pick in the BBL who pulled out because of injury and international commitments, was not so happy using a vomit emoji in his Twitter post.

Former Australian fast bowler Brett Lee also said he didn’t like the rule “whatsoever”.

“I don’t think it’s great. I just don’t like seeing that in the game of cricket. It doesn’t look good but they’re both within their right to do it,” he told Fox Cricket.

His view was backed up by former Australian keeper Brad Haddin, who suggested Rogers “actually wasn‘t backing up that far” when Zampa attempted the run out.

“I don‘t like the look. Zampa wanted to make a statement with it (but) I think Rogers was within the rules,” he said.

Zampa’s Melbourne Stars coach Dave Hussey was adamant they would have withdrawn the appeal if Rogers was given out, even though the skipper said he could do it again in certain circumstances.

Even stand-in Renegades captain Aaron Finch said it was “in the rules” after the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *